GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > George's Profile
George's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on George's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent 40250 kshs to pay dowry, l bought mattress at 2000 kshs, l also paid fees of 3000 kshs to my two children in primary school, l also paid debt of 3000 kshs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has changed because in my life l have never slept on a mattress but because of GD l am now sleeping on mattress, l also have peace with my in-laws since l took dowry to my in-laws.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 7 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on paying school fees ksh 3200, water tank 210 ltrs ksh 1500,gave my wife ksh 2000 for business and mattress ksh 3500.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning on paying my wife's dowry, build toilet and extend my house.
access_time over 7 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay dowry for my wife, buy two oxen which will be used for ploughing and start a small business for my spouse.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement was paying fees for my brother when he was in secondary school. Right now he is in university and is nearly completing his second year.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have now is that I have been sick for eight months and thus I have been unable to work.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the morning. This is because I I get to spend time with my children as I am escorting them to school.