chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Lilian's Profile
Lilian's family
Lilian
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
casuall labour
faceAge:
33
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($480 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I used my last transfer to buy 30 poles,barbed wire,cement and other materials that were used to fence my compound.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($481 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying a cow which will generate income for my family by selling milk, bought building materials as am planning to put up a new structure and paid school fee for my children in nursery and primary school.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that Am now having a cow which I never had before.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first cash transfer on paying school fees 6,000 KES, bought 1 sac of maize 2,900 KES and spent the remaining 1000 KES on other house expenses.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to spend my upcoming cash transfer on paying school fees and buying a cow.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 2 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
My plan with my transfer is to pay school fees for my child in secondary school,he's currently in form one. Lastly I plan to buy livestock to raise which will also act as an investment since I can resell later at a profit.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I'm proudest of is having been able to build our current house, I'm a second wife and when I got married here it took close to ten years before my husband could build me a house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I'm facing is on paying school fees for our child in secondary school, We have no proper source of income and our children are always on fees arrears.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the afternoon when I'm resting after spending time in the farm.