GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Millicent's Profile
Millicent's family
Millicent
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
34
workCampaign
UBI
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($253 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
I have been getting some little profits which have been of so much help because I have been using the money generated from the ventures to buy food for the family and keep us afloat.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
I have a desire of making improvements on my small scale business which had not yet picked up to the level which I want it to get to. I am only hoping that my profits can improve within time and make me get cash to help my children.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
The biggest difference for me is that I was able to do some of the things that I never managed to handle in my life. For instance, there was a balance of 20,00 KES that the teachers wanted me to pay for my daughter yet I did not have that required amount of money. Were it not for the money that GD sent to me, I am not sure how the situation would have been for my kid.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I expect to look for some money that will help me educate my kids especially the girl who will be joining a college in the nearby future. The girl has the urge to school within the next coming months but my only challenge is getting school fees that can enable me help her realize her dreams.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($253 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I have been supporting my children as a single parent for eight years now after we broke up with my spouse,this has never been easy to be honest. The relief I got after and that I am enjoying now after receiving this money from GiveDirectly is so evident. I have a piece some of mind. This is the biggest difference in my daily life.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months,I expect my life to have changed for the best. The piece of mind I am enjoying is just so immense.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My current life is different in that I have a cow of my own. I am hopeful my daughter will join school without hiccups of struggling for school fees. Were it not for GiveDirectly,this could have never happened.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to ensure that my daughter joins college. I am hopeful that she will.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have is lack of adequate income to pay school fees for my daughter who is on and off school for fee arreas.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening because this is the time that I always meet my customers in the market, sell for them my goods and I am always sure of coming back home with food for the family.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend part of my transfer on expanding my business and part of it to pay college fee for my daughter come next year.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is educating my daughter until now she is going to sit her final exam. This is something that I didn't expect to happen.