chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Fredrivk's Profile
Fredrivk's family
Fredrivk
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
40
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Fredrivk's next check-in.
 
7th Payment
Transfer Amount
2280 KES ($22 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
I have been living in a semi-permanent house which I built when I was still employed. After employment, life has not been easy on me especially in terms of finances. I have struggled to achieve all my goals like painting my house but due to low income from casual work, this has not been possible. I have been saving the little cash I get from GD and I was able to paint my whole house which now looks presentable and neat. In as much as I don't have any stable source of income, I am happy because the status of my house tells a different story. This is the doing of the Lord through GD.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
I would want to ensure my children are never sent home for school fees as before. I will be paying their school fees bit by bit until I clear the balance. I believe when they are done with studies, they will get good joibs andf make my life better.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
The biggest difference in my life since I strated receiving this transfer is that I am sure every month I get money from GD. Before, I really used to struggle through casual work where at times I would miss work at all and would not get any pay hence my family would go without food. Since I started receiving this transfer, I ahve been able to plan well and ensure my family never goes without food at all. This really makes me happy.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I want to share the little I get by paying school fees and to buy building materials which I will use to build a new kitchen. We have been cooking outside our house since our house is too small to accommodate cooking space and this is risky especially at night. The kitchen will also serve as sleeping place for my children.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
4560 KES ($45 USD)
access_time 10 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
At the moment I wouldn't say I have any new goal, maybe with time I'll have a new goal.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
At the moment there is no difference in my life but I believe as I continue receiving the money I'll have a difference.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months, I expect to have built a decent kitchen that my children can use for sleeping because the one I have currently is not in good condition.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life since I started receiving the money is that I feel proud having painted my house. This is one thing I have always longed for doing but I couldn't afford it.
 
Enrolled
access_time 11 months ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
"The biggest hardship i have faced in my life is satisfying my basic needs. With little resources i get from hocking, i find it difficult to meet all my basic needs."
What is the happiest part of your day?
"The happiest part of my day is night. This is the time i am at home joining my family after my day's commitments. What makes a man happy most is having his family members around him, it is also the best time to monitor the growth of your family."
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
"I am planning to improve my house and buying materials to built kitchen."
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
"The achievement i am proudest of is that as a hocker, i have managed, through my little saving, to buy piece of land and build my own home. I have managed to pay fees for my first born boy child who is in Secondary school."