chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Eunice's Profile
Eunice's family
Eunice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
33
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Eunice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I purchased some bags of cement worth 11580 KES which I'll use to cement my house. Bought a bed worth 4000 KES. Purchased a mattress at 4200 KES. I still have the rest of the transfer at hand which I'll pay those who will cement the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I sleep comfortably on a new mattress. I was sleeping on a thin mattress and couldn't even enjoy my sleep.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on a solar lamp (4000), farming (3000), a bag of maize (2000) and food (800).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to plaster my house and buy a goat.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to buy a solar panel for light, renovate my house by cementing walls and the floor and to buy a ploughing machine and cattle for farming.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is building my home. I am proud because my husband died when I was still living at his parents home.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the burden of paying medical expenses for my child who suffers from sickle cell anemia.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I go for casual work.