GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Emily's Profile
Emily's family
Emily
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
45
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53200 KES ($482 USD)
access_time 11 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than how it would have been if I never received the transfers in that I have build a better and spacious house. We used to live in a small house which could not host all the family comfortably. Whenever I had visitors it was so stressful and very demoralizing since I would host them outside the house. We were cooking and sleeping in the same house. We had no extra space to store our belongings. I depend on small scale farming and the harvest that we get is only for consumption. We didn't had any source of income. I had always wished to own a spacious house. When I received the transfer I felt so happy and decided to build a better house. Currently we have a spacious and decent house. I no longer get stress up on where to host visitors. My children have enough space to sleep and even do there homework. My self esteem boosted, I no longer shy off to welcome visitors to my house. GiveDirectly has changed our living standard and enabled us to fulfilled our dreams.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion GiveDirectly does well by giving money to the poor in the community to build better houses and to buy dairy cows. I do not find anything that GiveDirectly did not do well.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent KES 32,000 to purchased a dairy cow. I used to buy milk daily and this was so costly for me. I will be able to cut the daily cost. I build a better and spacious house for my family. We used to live in a small house which could not host all the family comfortably. The rest of the money I bought food and clothes for my children. I am so happy because GiveDirectly has changed our living standard.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($508 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was a great moment when I first realized that the transfers I had been waiting for were finally in. I thanked God for opening a way for my family when we really needed a breakthrough. I was well set and already knew how best I will utilize the transfer since I had all my priorities up.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is the rejuvenated hope of settling again with my children in my own house. I was on the verge of losing hope were it not for my brother who gave me a piece of land where I put up a new structure that I am currently living in. Having constructed it and at least spent the remaining on livestock has given me hope of starting a new life again.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
After receiving the first transfer, I spent the first 43000KES on the construction of a new house. This project took a good portion of the transfer since I had to externally source almost all the construction materials. I needed enough building posts, 22 iron sheets, and also timber. I had been living in an old house that was initially owned by my brother who after abandoning it, moved to a new farm. I came to seek shelter here after a serious conflict with my husband a year ago - who threatened to kill me with my children- I had to move back to my parents and was lucky enough to have been included in this project. I also spent the remaining amount on purchasing an in-calf heifer and the remaining on buying foodstuff for my children.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 1 year ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means improved shelter in my household. I plan to spend $350 to build a two-roomed iron-roofed house since the one we currently live in is deplorable. It leaks in water whenever it rains thus posing health risks to my children. I also intend to buy a dairy cow for $300, thus saving 20 shillings that I usually spend daily in buying 0.5 liters of milk. This also means an increased source of income upon selling milk thus reduced worry level on where to get work to do so as to buy food for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My usual day involves going to the nearby shopping center in search of casual jobs such as fetching water and firewood to be used in hotels. This involves walking for long distances to get such commodities. I am always tired by the end of the day but also happy after receiving my earnings that would enable me to buy food for my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The one-roomed house I live in with my two children is in terrible condition. It leaks in water during rainy seasons thus a hazard to my children. I end up spending a lot of money on hospital visits seeking pneumonia treatment for my children which makes me feel like a disappointment to them. Lack of a sustainable source of income has made It hard for me to build up savings that would enable me to construct better shelter for my family, which is the biggest hardship I face.