chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
31
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
access_time almost 3 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
build a house
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference is that my son now has a house to sleep in. It is a big problem if someone do not have a house, my son had to walk along distance to find a place to sleep every evening which was hectic and not safe.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token payment to buy a steel door (6500) and a solar lamp (3500).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a house for my two sons and buy chairs with my upcoming lump-sum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for two of my sons in high school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have worked hard and have managed to construct iron roofed house for my family. My husband passed on more that two decades ago and left me in a thatched house. I saved little money for several months and I was able to build the house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I don't have a stable source of income that can enable me pay school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up alive and am able to perform my duties.