chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Gorety's Profile
Gorety's family
Gorety
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
26
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Gorety's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 24,000KES on buying 2 cows, 15,000KES on buying an iron door and iron windows, and 7,000KES on buying cement for building an iron roofed house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to sleep on the floor, but now I sleep on a bed, my house is also clean, and my children are neat when they go to school.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I started a business ( selling fish) and bought cushions (2000 KES) with the token payment.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to repair my house and buy cows with the upcoming lumpsum transfer.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to set up a business with the first transfer,the second one I will buy some domestic animals and the last one I will use to build a house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I have managed to take my children to school and I always ensure that they never miss school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is getting a job to do, making money here is very difficult and being a widow you have no option but to do what you can to support your children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I see my children off to school.