GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Carroline's Profile
Carroline's family
Carroline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
29
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Carroline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 20 iron sheets at 13,000 KES to add to 10 others I had bought earlier,a steel door at 8,000 KES, two steel windows at 6,000 KES, poles at 14,000 KES, nails at 2,000 KES and labour at 5,000 KES so as to construct a new house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was living in a one-roomed house that was too small for my family and our belongings. Through GD I have received money to construct a bigger house with better roofing and walls that can well contain my family and the rest of our property. We are now safe and comfortable.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 9,100KES and bought 14 ironsheets in as part of materials for building an iron roofed house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Iplan to buy more ironsheet, timber and nails and build an iron roofed house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to build a new house, household items that I lack, pay school and the remainder to invest in some small fish business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is the ability to take care of my children, I thank God for this far he has brought us.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is feeding, providing and taking care of my family
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when someone calls me for a casual job.