GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Perpetua's Profile
Perpetua's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Perpetua's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We built a semi-permanent house of 29 iron sheets at a total cost of 29840 KES of my first lumpsum transfer, I settled my outstanding debts with 14000 KES and I spent the remaining 6160 KES on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have a significant difference in my daily life since I am now having my own house, where I never pay rent and where I have full authority and privacy as opposed to before when I was living in a rental house in the nearby center.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 10 iron sheets at 6,500 KES, I also paid 3,000 KES school fees.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build the house.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to construct my own house being that we currently stay in a rental house. I also plan to spend the transfer to buy household items like furniture and bed. I also plan to spend the transfer to buy goats.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that we have managed to stock enough food for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is lack of my own house. It has been difficult to stay in a rental house.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the evening when am having dinner with my children. I feel happy to be part of my family.