GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
43
homeHousehold Size:
2
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer on buying a cow at 15,000 KES,roofing and wall poles at 30,000 KES and used the rest of the money on food.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes, i am planning to expand my timber selling business in future.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different because through the transfers i have been able to start a timber selling business which is my source of income,buy livestock of my own,build a bigger house and a kitchen.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 32000 KES of the first lumpsum on buying building materials and used 17000 KES in opening a business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved because I have a source of income from the business I opened.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
When I received my token payment, I spent the whole of it on 14 iron sheets.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning that when I receive my upcoming lumpsum payment, I will plaster my main house with sand and cement and dig and build a latrine.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer to build a new house and plaster it to reduce the cost of smearing. I also plan to construct a pit latrine to improve the hygiene of my dwelling and stop begging from my neighbours.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have educated my child through farming and he is currently employed as a teacher.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is that I have a small farm and no money to buy land for farming and yet it's my main source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up and able to go to my farm because it's my main source of income.