GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Elius's Profile
Elius's family
Kenya Large Transfer
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($457 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My new goal is to raise enough money so that I can launch a home garden whereby I will be planting vegetables for commercial purposes. I feel this kind of business will thrive so well in my region since none of us in the village has been practising it. I believe that whatever I will be earning will be of support, especially to my children who are still in school.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
According to me, I do not see any sector that GiveDirectly failed us in the whole village. This is evident in the positive impacts that the transfers have brought into our lives. The majority of us now have good permanent houses, our children are now studying without any difficulties also, each household has at least one cow or goat.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my second transfer on buying iron sheets at KES 4400 and nails at KES 300. This was for the completion of my house which was under renovation. Its roof was dilapidated and leaking during rains, which forced me to seek shelter from the neighbourhood during those particular seasons. I am so happy that I will not have to worry about the rain. I also bought sand and cement which was for cementing the muddy floor which was so annoying, especially during the winter seasons. Later on, I started a new business of repairing and installing framework structures which are made of wood. Being a carpenter by profession, it has been my dream to start this business but I did not have the capital to facilitate it. I used to work at my friend's workshop and paid on commission which was too little. With the remaining amount of money, I bought food for the family and other household items for my four children.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($475 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around 6 am, and I had just woken up and was preparing myself to go to work at my carpentry and joinery workshop. This is a career that I had loved to do right from a youthful age. I had anticipated receiving my transfer since it was around the dates that the GiveDirectly officers promised to send us the transfer. I received two consecutive messages on my phone, I was curious to know the content of the messages since it was unusual to receive a message at that time of the day. I was overwhelmed with joy when I saw that Mpesa message indicating that I had received my transfer which marks great financial independence in my life.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I was able to boost my job of carpentry by purchasing more working tools. I longer have to have to borrow from my neighbor's workshop. In addition, I am opportunity that I will be able to stay in a better and more comfortable house with my family once I complete the renovation.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I have desired to boost my carpentry job by purchasing the required working tools, KES 5800 to purchase a pair of Chisels. This is because I had been borrowing the working tools from my neighbor's shop which sometimes is had to get when he is busy with them. This resulted in the loss of customers since I was not completing their orders on time. I also used KES 20,000 to purchase iron sheets which I intend to use it renovate my house by putting up a new roof since it is leaking during the rainy season. Furthermore, I contributed KES 5000 each with my brother to connect tap water for our homestead. Most of the time my wife had walk a long distance to look for water. In addition, we are planning to sell the water to our neighbors to earn extra income. Lastly, I set aside KES 6000 to support my kids' educational needs. They are still in primary they had a huge fee balance. With the remaining amount, I bought new school uniforms for each of my kids for KES 4750 Previously, they were using school uniforms that were old and worn out which was embarrassing.
access_time almost 2 years ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Proper housing is one of the basic fundamental human rights. For decades, I have lived in a dilapidated house because I have prioritized my children's education. I plan to use KES 70,000 to erect pillars to support my weak structure and renovated its falling roof. I would also use KES 13,000 to install a tap and KES 20,000 for the purchase of a water tank. The tank will serve as a reservoir to curb perpetually water shortages in the village.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I made a bed for a client back in August last year. He was so pleased with my work and he decided to pay extra money for the good job done. This made me happy and motivated to always do my best.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Job insecurity is my main challenge. I work as a carpenter, currently surviving on casual contracts. This does not earn me enough to support my children's education as well as care for my own needs such as decent housing. On a good day, I take home KES 500 which can not sustain the family as well as realize my dream of owning a workshop.