chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
33
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 9,000 KES to construct a pit latrine, I bought a bull for 20,000 KES, paid school fees for 7,500 KES for my child in secondary school and another 6,000 KES for my child in vocational training. The rest of the transfer was spent on other daily HH expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Since I built the toilet, I have been relieved from the shame of going to the bush whenever my family and I were going to answer calls of nature.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid school fees (7000 KES) and bought cushions and household goods (3000 KES)
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to pay school fees, buy a cow and start a fish business with the upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay school fees for my son who has just joined secondary school and also pay college fees for my daughter who is undertaking a course in teaching.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having saved money that I earned while doing odd jobs and managed to educate my daughter up to college, where she is performing quite well.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face is ill health,the income I get from doing odd jobs is very little and it can not adequately cater for my medical needs, I fear that I may succumb to my illness and leave my children destitute.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening after finishing my daily chores and I can therefore relax with my family as we take supper.