GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Rehema's Profile
Rehema's family
Rehema
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
House construction
faceAge:
28
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($530 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different in that I now live in a decent iron roofed house unlike before when I was sheltering in a grass thatched house. I also own a pair of oxen which as a farmer, it will greatly help me in doing my farming timely. I used to hire from neighbours during the planting season but I am glad that I won't hire, instead, I will hire to them at a fee hence getting an income.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
GiveDirectly has done well in ensuring that we upgrade our living standards from the lowly lives we were in. We achieved the things that we couldn't fulfill due to financial hardships like paying for our children in school with ease, building decent shelters and owning livestock that we never had before. I do not see anything that GiveDirectly doesn't do well.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent a bigger portion of the second transfer on buying building materials in order to build a new house. I purchased iron sheets, timber, building poles to facilitate this. My initial house was grass thatched and in a bad state. I can now access to a decent shelter unlike before when I was lived in the old house grass thatched house. I spent the remaining amount to buy some foodstuffs for my family and paying for other household expenses.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($549 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I never imagined that a day would come and have my own house. I was sheltering in my brother-in-law's house where I lacked freedom at all. Through the transfer, then, I was able to build my house. Owning this house to me is the biggest difference in my daily life.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The notification came at around 6 O'clock and my phone was off by then. On turning it on, I went through the messages and I came across the notification by GiveDirectly that I had received my transfer. I was very happy and overjoyed and to me, it was a dream that had finally come true.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
The house that I was sheltering in previously was not in a good condition and it had fallen on one side. It was open everywhere and we could feel the cold and the scorching sun inside. The situation was unbearable and we had to seek shelter in my brother-in-law's house. For sure I was not comfortable and free at all but because I was in distress, then, there was nothing I could do to save the family from this pathetic situation. It was until GiveDirectly came to our village and enrolled me into its program that I developed hopes of living a better life. I spent the transfer I received on buying iron sheets and building poles and other building materials for constructing a new house. I am happy that I now live in my own house comfortable and free. I also bought four goats to keep in my compound as assets and I am expecting them to increase in number so that in case of any future financial need, I will be able to sell some to help myself out. I also spent a small percentage of my transfer to pay school fees for my children for them to continue with their studies without any destruction of being sent home for the same.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I currently stay in a grass thatched house which leaks whenever it rains and changing the old grass is expensive for us everytime. Receiving this money means that I will finally be able to buy iron sheets for building my new house. This will enable my husband and I to focus on other matters like going to work to feed our family instead of wasting time everytime that we repair the grass thatched roof.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I usually spend the better part of my morning from 7 am to 10 am in my farm. This makes me happy because I am able to plough and get a bag of maize for my family during the harvesting season.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Life has been tough for us because our income is very low and this cannot sustain us in buying food on a daily basis for our family. At times I send my kids to go and get meals from my inlaws whenever we do not have food in our house and this really is a disgrace to us as a family.