GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Getrude's Profile
Getrude's family
Getrude
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
54
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($520 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The worst and most embarrassing moments of my life was walking to my neighbors compound the first thing in the morning whenever I wake up to use their toilets. It was even worse whenever I got the toilets locked and this was a daily routine for three good years. This meant that I had to walk to the nearest market center to use the available toilets. I'm happy and proud I'm not in this condition anymore because, through the GD transfers, I was able to construct a decent toilet.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GD does well by giving people unconditional cash and letting them decide on what to spend it on. This has promoted an independent mind and people managed to utilize the money so well. On the other hand, I don't feel GD isn't doing anything wrong but I wish they could be giving us yearly bonuses so that we can maintain the living standards we already set with the transfers.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
My child who is in the final year in the university had not cleared the end of the last semester's fees so I paid for the fee with a bigger portion of the second transfer. In addition to that, I had a clothing business, unfortunately, it collapsed six months ago because I couldn't afford to restock it after spending the income I earned from it on the university fees. I, therefore, used a portion of the money to revive the business.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($544 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The transfer has enabled me to purchase building materials which include iron sheets, bricks, sand and cement in order to construct a new permanent toilet that can serve as many people as possible in our village. We will no longer be defecating in the bushes which was exposing us to infections. To me, having a new toilet is the biggest difference in my daily life since I will no longer be living with the fear of being infected by water-borne diseases like cholera and dysentery.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was woken up by a message notification on my phone and on checking who the sender was, I realized that it was from GiveDirectly. As I went through its contents, I was filled with happiness and greatly overjoyed having received some money they had promised us.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I had desired to have a new permanent toilet since the one I am currently using is semi-permanent and more so cannot serve many people. Not many do have access to toilets in my village as they depend on the small bushes around for open defecation. However, on receiving the transfer from GiveDirectly, I bought building materials which include iron sheets, bricks, sand and several bags of cement in order to construct a new permanent pit latrine. I paid for the full cost of transporting these materials and labour. I am glad that once the toilet is complete, it will be of great help to many people. In addition to this, I did some school shopping for my child who is in high school and paid for his school fees. I spent the rest of the transfer to meet the daily needs of my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I used to sell second hand clothes in Bamba market but I stopped because of lack of enough capital. This business was of great help to me as I could at least provide for my family with much ease. It has always been my ambition to revive it, in order to create a stable source of income since I depend on subsistence farming. Running this business will mean that, I will be able to complete my house which is under construction and also build a toilet. Besides, I will also meet other basic needs for the family including food, clothing, medical and educational costs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Morning is the happiest part of my day as I wake up feeling strong enough to face the day's activities. Besides, this is the time I get to communicate with my children via the phone and I get to know how they are fairing. Their cheerful voices are an assurance that they are fine thus giving me a lot of joy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My husband and co-wife died 20 years ago and left me with the responsibility of raising 8 children. Being a housewife by then, their deaths came as a big blow since I had no means of providing for them. Life has been full of struggles seeing them through school and meeting other basic needs. The clothes business that I started in order to help me also collapsed and left me suffering more. I have never been financially stable in my life and I can say it is my biggest hardship.