GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Romanus's Profile
Romanus's family
Romanus
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
62
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Romanus's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 16000 kshs to pay school fees, l had some debts adding to 12000 kshs so l use the transfer to pay it, l spend 7000 kshs for weeding, remaining a mount l spend for buy foodstuffs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l am eating well with my family and my children are also smartly dressed.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 6,000KES for school fees arrears, and also paid some debt.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We plan to invest the money into our small cereal business so that we are able to pay school fees for our children who are in secondary school.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer on my children's education, buy farm equipments so as to do large scale farming that can earn me more money and use a little of the funds on food.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that many girls in my community are beneficiaries of a school that I was once it's founders.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is lack of sufficient funds to educate my children because I don't have a reliable source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake and I am able to read the bible.