chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Everline's Profile
Everline's family
Everline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Everline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 22000 KES of my first lumpsum transfer on maize, groundnuts and beans farming, 8500 KES on a sofa set, 5000 KES on a bed and the remaining part of it on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to sleep on a mat which was hard and uncomfortable and since I started getting transfers from GD, I have managed to buy a more comfortable mattress for my myself and the rest of my family member. I used to sit on a stone, but currently I sit on a sofa set.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying a mattress, & paying school fees. I bought school uniform for my children and bought household items like utensils.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on building my own house and move out of the rented. I will also buy livestock’s.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Planning to move out of rentals and build my own home Planning to buy at least one cow of my own to use as a source of income in the near future
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is my family for am happy with the daily progress of my children
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship was when I got unwell to unextent dint know where I was and was chased away from my husband s home
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is when I get a casual job that can push and my children