chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on buying a cow and expanding my house.I also paid school fees for my children and paid my medical bills.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a spacious house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to pay my daughter's medical bills. I also paid fees to my son in high school.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to enlarge my house because its too small. I'm also planning to purchase furniture with a portion of the remaining amount while the rest I'll pay school fees to my son.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees for my children,medical bills for my sickly child and putting up a small business for more income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of,was being able to put up a small iron roof house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am facing currently is to do with my sickly child whom after being sick for long with no proper medical care is now mental.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is during morning hours when I am able to visit my farm and weed hoping for a better yield.