GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Sarah's Profile
Sarah's family
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Sarah's next check-in.
11th Payment
Transfer Amount
2280 KES ($22 USD)
access_time 28 days ago
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
I managed to get employment as a shopkeeper where I earn a little salary each month which now supplements my transfer and enables me to take care of most of my needs. This has made it possible for me to save most of my transfers, unlike before where I would only save about a quarter of a whole month's transfer. Making more savings monthly keeps alive my hope of joining college next year which is not possible at the moment due to financial difficulties.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
I completed high school last year, but due to financial constraints, I have not been able to join college because my parents don't earn much. The plan is that we should be saving in bits until we have enough to pay some of the college fees. Other than spending part of my transfers on personal needs, I will be saving the rest towards the plan.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
Within the past few months, we have come together as a family and put together some of our transfers which have enabled us to construct a new kitchen and even renovate our main house. Having a new kitchen comes with great benefits of having a separate place to cook rother than the main house which is sometimes very uncomfortable especially when we have to use firewood which emits lots of smoke. The main house also looks quite new and decent now that it has been renovated.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
My parent promised that I will join college next year, but only if we can manage to make enough savings to enrol me into one and pay at least one year's fees. So far, it has been a challenge making decent savings because we still have other development plans back at home, leaving my chances of ever going to college very slim. I have been trying to save on my own from the transfers and my salary and I hope that in six months, I will have a reasonable amount that if I present to my parents, will give them the morale of following in my footsteps so that when the time comes for me to join college, we will be financially ready.
8th Payment
Transfer Amount
4560 KES ($45 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
Currently, my life is different from how it was in that, I am self-dependent. Previously, I could ask my mother to buy me almost everything I didn't have. I feel proud because I can buy some of these items by my self through the money I get from Give directly. It is a precious feeling knowing that I am no longer a burden to my mother. The fact that that I even contribute towards the family's development makes me proud.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
I do not have any new goals at the moment. I still want to continue saving my monthly transfers with the intention of using the money to pay my college fees. I want to go back to school because it will enable me to apply for jobs once I get a certificate upon completion of my course. Even if I don't get a job, the skills acquired in that course can help me employ my self by starting my own business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have become a more responsible person. We were able to pool efforts with my father who is also a beneficiary and used our transfer on renovating our kitchen. We managed to extend it and replaced the grass thatched roof with iron sheets. My siblings and I used to sleep in this until we couldn't sleep anymore after its condition got worse. We were then forced to sleep at the neighbor's place especially during the rainy seasons. I feel good when I see my siblings sleeping in a decent place. The embarrassment of sleeping in other people's houses has now been permanently solved.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I do not expect my life to change so much very soon because I will be saving for my college education. I am planning to join college next year. I know that I am taking a big risk by making this decision but I am positive because I know that the skills which I will have gotten after doing the course will help me improve my life. I am certain that my future is bright and I will be living a good life.
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
4560 KES ($46 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I recently completed high school and I still don't have any source of income. This meant that everything I needed was provided by my mother who does not earn much from her business. Many times She would not even be able to buy me the basic needs of a lady. Since I started receiving these transfers, I have had it easy buying these items on my own and taken off the burden from my mother.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I hope that by then, I will have joined college. It will the greatest achievement for me because I still can't believe that it will be so. Without GD I don't think this is something that would ever happen considering that the responsibility fell on my mother who I know would not be able to raise the fees.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Ever since I started receiving these transfers, my general look has changed as I have spent of them on personal items such as clothes. I dress better than I did before and this has really boosted my self-confidence.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I did not have any plans of joining college because I knew my mother would not able to pay the fees, but with these tranfers, I can raise half the fees and let my mother raise the other part. This has also encouraged her to struggle more and given her hope of completing college.
access_time over 1 year ago
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I faced was school fee problem during my secondary schooling. I doubted finishing my studies successfully since I was sent back home for fees oftenly.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Averagely, I am always naturally happy the whole day unless something stresses me up or when am sick.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend my transfers towards my college education. I want to join a diploma course in accounting but currently my parents cannot support my education since they are paying fees for my sibling in secondary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is to have completed my secondary education. I had fee challages and even doubted if I would finish but I am proud to have finished and now hopes that I will join college.