GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Saline's Profile
Saline's family
Saline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Hairdressing
faceAge:
37
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Saline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my lump-sum transfer to plaster my house (15000), to build a kitchen (25000) and to pay school fees.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am a widow and l have faced a lot of struggles in my life but these transfers from GD have enabled me to sort some of my greatest desires to build a kitchen that i did not have and to plaster my house that is now much more better than before. I have also paid fees so my children will learn peacefully.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid school fees for my 3 kids.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Pay school fees again. My kids have fees arrears. Repair my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer school fees for my children and also to spend part of it to equip my salon. I also plan to complete building my house as it is incomplete.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is being able to struggle and take my children to school as my husband died while they were still young leaving me with the burden of taking care of them.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is feeding my children as my income is very small thereby making it difficult to get them food and pay for their school fees at the same time.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I attend to my clients at my salon as we chat during my working hours which usually starts in the morning till evening.