chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Esther's Profile
Esther's family
Esther
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
67
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Esther's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($535 USD)
access_time 12 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have been able to improve my house to a more permanent and an easy to maintain one. It happened so fast that it makes me feel so grateful for the support that I just received. I will no longer have to go through the hustle of trying to maintain a mud walled house and this has brought a lot of difference in my life.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I felt so happy the moment I received my money from GiveDirectly. I heard my phone ring at around 3:00 am in the morning and it didn't bother me as at that time. I couldn't believe that I had just received the money until my son called to confirm if I had just received at around 5:00 am. I awoke all my children and we prayed together to say a thanksgiving word to God for the moment He had blessed us.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used most of my recent transfer to improve my house which was mud walled to a timber wall. I am an aging person and I had started feeling the pain of maintaining a mud walled house since it takes a lot of my time and energy. I now feel happy that the house is nearing its completion. I also used the remaining amount to buy the household's basic needs and clothes for my grandchildren.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money will help me build a house made of wood.The current house I live in is made of mud and it is cumbersome to mantain.I will then buy a dairy cow which I am sure will serve as a good source of income through sale of milk.With the little remaining money I will buy a few chicken.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I spend the morning hours taking care of the cattle and feeding them.In the afternoon I mostly attend church meetings and fellowships.I enjoy the morning hours looking after the cattle because they are a source of income to me.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is raising up my grandchildren.My daughter has two children whom I take care of because she is away at work.My daughter is a casual labourer working away from home and what she gets is not enough to support us.She comes home once in a month leaving me with all the responsibilities.I sometimes experience chest problems which prevent me from doing some of the work here at home.