<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Sharon's Profile
Sharon's family
Sharon
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
29
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Preparing Payments
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Sharon's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 days ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My ambition is to have better housing but we do not have a stable income in our family. My husband is the sole breadwinner of the family, he works casually on construction sites to earn a living. This job pays him KES 12000 monthly which is insufficient for the family. I will therefore set aside KES 80000 to build a kitchen made of iron sheet and renovate our main house. This will make me feel good whenever I have visitors. To enable me to support my husband on family income, I will consider buying a cow with the remaining money to tap more income through the sale of milk. Milk is in high demand in our area and there is a ready market.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My husband bought me some goats in the last six months, these goats have greatly helped me pay school fees for my daughter. I experienced an extreme financial challenge in October and I was about to pull out my child from self-sponsored primary school to a government-sponsored primary school. Luckily, I sold two goats and paid school fees. This made me feel happy as my child was able to continue with their studies.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I admitted my daughter to a private school for better education, but this has come with high costs and high family expenses. We are now crippling to pay her school fees and support her education considering that we do not have a stable source of income. My husband earns about KES 12000 monthly which is not enough to support us.