GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Chepkemoi's Profile
Chepkemoi's family
Chepkemoi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
24
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($442 USD)
access_time 29 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I bought a dairy cow with the money which I received from GiveDirectly and through the sale of milk, I have been getting money that enables me to pay school fees for my children. When I started receiving income from selling milk, payment of school fees became easier and I no longer have stress like before. I had moved my children to a private primary school but then I used to struggle a lot to raise school fees. My goal is to see that my children get the best education so that they can be successful in the future.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
GiveDirectly did well when they took the time to educate us about the project and how to identify their staff. We got knowledge on how to protect our mobile money and also what not to spend the money on. On the other hand, there was nothing that GiveDirectly never did well.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
In the second transfer which I received, we put together savings that my spouse had saved and spent to buy a piece of land that we used to plant pasture for our livestock. We have cows and the main challenge was the lack of feeds to cushion ourselves in such cases, we had to acquire land for planting pasture specifically so that we can have a continuous supply of milk which in turn guaranteed income through the sale of milk.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($500 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was at the farm planting sweet potatoes when I had my phone ringing, I stopped to check what the message was all about, that was when I saw a Mpesa message notification, I was anxious to know who had sent money to me that early morning, on confirming I realized that it was the promised transfer from GiveDirectly and I was grateful to God for showering me with the wonderful blessing that morning, I knew my child school fees would be catered for and that alone made me happy and satisfied.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
My life is different now because I have cleared the school fees arrears for my child who is schooling in a private school, In addition to that I bought a bull so that my other cow would have a companion, I am glad that for the first time in a long time I will not be borrowing from my neighbour.GiveDirectly has changed my life in a big way, I believe that the money was God sent because it came in the right time of need when we needed it most. I am grateful for the support that impacted our lives positively.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I am a farmer in the village, my husband is a prison warder in the capital, I am blessed with one child, I have a daily cow but a don't have a bull, most of the time I am forced to borrow from my neighbours, therefore when I received my transfer this was in my to-do list. I bought a bull worth KES 27500, I then used KES 3500 in paying school fees for my child who is in a private school around.I used the remaining amount of money in buying household items and foodstuffs. I am happy that I have my own
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means better Education for myself and the kids. I completed form four and didn't continue with education because my parents didn't manage to pay for my university fee's. I decided to get married but when I receive the transfer I will go back to college and do agricultural course that will help me in future, currently i have two children who are in need of school fees also. I will pay ks 70,000 for my college fee and the remaining will go for the kids school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening because I get to rest since I have completed my daily task and ready for the next day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is financial constraints. I did not get to continue with my education after fourth form and so I could not get a good job. My husband's job cannot sustain us and my plan is to go back to school so that I can be employed.