GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Mwalimu's Profile
Mwalimu's family
Mwalimu
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
35
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Preparing Payments
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Mwalimu's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I have a family of ten and we are all living in a one-bedroom house with a grass roof. The house can not accommodate us all. One of my children sleeps at my neighbor's compound. Getting shelter from my neighbor brings shame to me as a parent. I will build a three-room house that will accommodate the entire family and one room for visitors. It will have 40 pieces of iron sheets where each costing $10. I will also $500 pay labor and other building materials. This house will restore my respect in the village.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My son who schools at Gede secondary school is very bright. He always gets good grades that are B plain and above. He has a balance of $420 and that has made him stay at home. Two days ago, the principal called my brother-in-law and asked about my son. The teacher has decided to waive the balances so that the child can go back to school. His performance puts the reputation of the school high and he is in form 3. The message from the principal brought me happiness to me although I am yet to see him keep his words.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I have a family of ten with two children at secondary school and six at primary level. I do a casual job making charcoal for sale which is tedious. In a month I sell approximately 10 bags at $ 6 each. This gives an income of $60. The two children at secondary each have a school fees balance of $420 and 200 respectively. The duo are at home now due to a lack of fees. The money I get from my work caters for food only. So lack of reliable sources of income is the current challenge I am facing.