GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Caroline's Profile
Caroline's family
Caroline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
30
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($526 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
As a single parent it would have been a struggle to build a house in my own as well as pay school fees for my children and also to buy a cow for milk production. After I received the transfers, I managed to do all that which I had been planning for without success. Now am living as a happy parent that I now have a lactating cow which I milk for my children to have mixed tea. Again I have a good shelter which I built as a result of the transfers.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
Since I was born I had never received free money like which Give Directly gave us. I believe that Give Directly wanted to uplift us to another level by giving us lump sum money which are non refundable. I believe there was nothing that the organization didn't do well. I thank the Donors and all Staff for job well done.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
The money which I received from Give Directly, I spent part of it to buy building materials for constructing a bigger house and a kitchen. I also bought some water pipes for connecting water to our. The remaining amount I spend to buy a goat, food and some maize seeds.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($546 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
It has always been my prayer to own a cow but I had not achieved this due to insufficient money. I am now happy since I have been able to own one unlike before. I believe that through this cow, I will be able to sell milk and use the money I will get to buy basic needs like toiletries. I will also be able to save some amount on a daily basis and use them to pay for my children's education.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
For so long, I had been praying to ask God to provide me with a means of getting money to use in supporting my family since I was passing through difficult times in my life. When I received my transfer I was filled with happiness as God had answered my prayers. I started singing to praise Him for His blessings.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of my first transfer in buying a cow. For so long, I have been buying milk on a daily basis and sometimes my family would go for a day without taking their breakfast when I do not have money. Due to the outbreak of fall armyworms in my region, maize production has decreased because they totally destroy maize plantations by feeding on maize leaves. This led to food insecurity in our region. For this reason, I bought two sacks of maize which will last us for some time and it is also quite cheap. In addition, I bought some iron sheets to use in building a kitchen for my family for I used to cook all meals outside. Since it was planting season in my region, I bought some maize seeds, fertilizers and paid leased a tractor to till my farm so that I could be at a bar with other people. I used the remaining amount to pay school fees for my children so that they could not be sent back home this year due to lack of school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means that my desire of buying my own cow will be fulfilled. Over the years, I have been relying on purchased milk for my household use - practice that is unreliable because it requires continued presence of money yet I do not have a reliable source of income. Besides, owning a cow will give me a sense of prestige and respect from my neighbors.
What is the happiest part of your day?
As a peasant farmer, I rely primarily on growing kales in my 0.25 acres garden. My day starts in the early morning when I visit the farm to weed and plant additional vegetables. At the course of the day, I harvest and sell the vegetables to my customers who come to collect them. In the evening, I harvest some vegetables for my household consumption before watering them and returning home. Hence, the happiest part of my day is in the evening when going home with some income (usually around 0.8 to 1.2 USD a day) and vegetables for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
In the year 2015, I lost my husband in a tragic road accident that left me with a fractured knee (I was traveling with him). Since I come from a humble background and living with about 1 USD a day, life has never been easy. Accordingly, it has been tough for me to raise my kids and pay their education fees though they are still in primary school. Hence, I am always worried that I might fail to educate them though high school and beyond due to inadequacy of finances.