GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Ruth's Profile
Ruth's family
Ruth
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Looking after house/family
faceAge:
20
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($488 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I feel so proud in my life now that I was able to help my younger sister finish her secondary school education successfully. Since my mother does not have a good income to help her meet all our needs, she needed my assistance in offsetting my sister's fees arrears. When I received my transfer, my sister had been sent home for the arrears and I could see how worried my mother was. She tried borrowing and was not able to get money to pay. This is why I decided to deny myself some of the wants so that my sister could finish her examinations in time. I am very glad I was able to help in time.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My next goal now is to start a business. Currently, I do not have stable employment and have always depended on income from casual work which is not consistent. I would want to use the opportunity provided by GD to better my financial life.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfer on buying a cow. I got an advice from my mother on how best I can invest the money on livestock and I know I will achieve my target of having so many cows starting with the one I bought as it will be reproducing on a yearly basis. I also gifted my mother some amount which she requested for, bought a television so that I can also be entertained and be up to date with what is going on in the country and world at large. I bought food with some amount to sustain us until the end of the month and saved the remaining to start a business which will sustain our financial need after the transfers are done through the profits.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($359 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is now different in that I have been able to pay for my sister's fees in high school as well as paying for my own for a course that I had enrolled. I could not have raised this much to support both of us if it was to come from my meagre earnings. In addition to this, I have been able to cater for my family's basic needs without much struggle unlike before.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My goal right now is to complete the course in saloon and cosmetics that I began. The money has created an opportunity for me to pay partly my fees. Completing this course in a few months is the biggest goal I would like to accomplish.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent KES 7000 of my most recent transfer on paying for tuition fees for a course that I enrolled in saloon and cosmetics, which I am assured of self-employment to generate my own income upon completion. I also paid KES 10000 for school fees for my sister in high school. I cleared her fee arrears which will give her a good time and opportunity to study without any interruptions concerning school fees. In addition to all this, I purchased chicken which I am currently rearing in my rural home, which to me is an investment. I am spending the remaining portion to cater for my families basic needs and other household expenses.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($198 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have no new goal but to save for my college education. I believe through completing my college studies on hairdressing and beauty, I will be able to get employed and provide for my family with ease.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my life is that I have bought a goat and in the unforeseen future once their population have increased I will be able to sell some of them and use the profits to start a cosmetic business with the profits. At that time I will be acquitted with knowledge after completing the hairdressing and beauty course on how to operate such a business for its sustainability. Having doubled profits I will be able to provide for my family with ease.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the money I received from GiveDirectly to buy a goat and remaining amount I paid school fees for my nephew who had stayed home for two weeks due to lack of money to settle the lump sum arrears she had in school. I also partly paid my enrollment fees to college for a hair and beauty training course.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
It was 4:00 am in the morning I was wakened up by a message alert on my phone and upon looking at it. I found that GiveDirectly had sent me money. I felt very happy because I knew most of my financial problems will be solved and having thought GiveDirectly's programme was blackmail and this act disapproved my ideology. The funniest thing I was able to sleep up to later during the day.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority will be to use rye money to start a new business of selling fruits. I want to open a small place where I can sell fruits, like fruit salad, fresh fruit juice and whole fruits. I believe I can get a large margin of clients with this kind of business. It will help me with my livelihood too. My second priority will be to use the money to pay for my small sisters education. I can pay her fees and help my parents out since they have a challenge in providing better education for her. She gets sent home often due to lack of school fees. Lastly I will use the money to relocate to a better house and neighbourhood. I always feel insecure in my neighbourhood, and this money will give me a chance to move to a better house and location.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is gang violence/crime because I often worry that one day some one from my family might get involved with these many gang groups around, get caught stealing and even get jailed or killed by police. I also live in worry and fear because I stay in a neighborhood that is very insecure that's why when j get money I would love to move to a better and secure place.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambitions are for me and my family to live a healthy long life, make sure my children grows up with a better and improved life, I want to ensure they also get the best and quality education without me worrying about their school fees. I also want to be successful enough in my future businesses and be financially stable. I will be able to build or buy my mother a house.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
On my usual day I wake up, prepare breakfast for my husband , do some house chores, and take care of the baby. I do this almost everyday and in between chores I watch TV while taking care if my child. During my free time I try to visit my relatives, play games using my phone and mingle with my friends.