GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Kevin's Profile
Kevin's family
Other (self-employed)
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Kevin's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($367 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Rental income is a very stable and assured income that I have ever had in my entire life. Being a landlord has became a very nice way of earning a descent living. I have already rented out two units and the income is one that I would never have gotten if I had never built the houses. This was only possible to do using the money I get from the organisation. Without it, I would still have no income from the property I own.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My next goal is to build additional rental units on the property . I recently completed two houses and I want to build more.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my most recent transfer on building rental houses. I used the money I received from GiveDirectly to by building materials; mostly building blocks, ballast and cement. I then brought up the building and used apart of it to construct the roof. I bought the roofing sheets and the wood that was needed.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($200 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My mother owns a plot at Syokimau which is lying idle and my uncles are eyeing at it. They have always been telling her that they can make good use of it since she seems reluctant to use it. I am now planning to save some amount from my business and use them collectively with my third transfer to build rental houses. With this, I will be able to earn some money on monthly basis and use them to support my siblings.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my daily income has now increased. This is because I was able to add some stock to my business thus I now have a variety of clothes to sell. I have also been using my profits to buy stock every week thus making my customers visit my shop frequently since they know that they will always find some new clothes. Because of this, my daily sales have now increased unlike before when a day would pass without me selling even a single item.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
When I received my transfers, I decided to use half of the amount to add the stock to my business of selling second-hand clothes. It was during the December holiday when most people buy new clothes and by adding new stock, my sales volume would increase. There is a time I had been arrested and my friends bailed me out. When I received this money, I decided to show them an appreciation for what they once did to me by sending them some amount. For a long time, I have been sleeping on the floor since I did not have a bed. I would at a time stay awake the whole night when it is too cold and I always feared to be sick due to pneumonia. This made me use the remaining amount to buy a bed so that I can reduce the risk of becoming sick.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
It was around seven o'clock in the morning when I was going to open my shop when I received my money. At that instant, I became so happy since I knew that through this money, I was going to expand my business. I started singing happily and I prayed silently to thank God for the blessings that I have just received.
access_time over 5 years ago
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My plan is to boost my existing business which is a boutique so that I can get more customers. Invest in the same business idea in a different area and lastly help educate my younger sister who is currently sitting for exams and I want to take her to college by paying school fees for her.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is daily sustenance for my family because they always look upon me for food. Housing has also been worrying me, so to pay rent on time and lastly debts because one of my friend owns me some money which I borrowed to boost my business so I want to pay him in installments.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambitions is to become the most creative designer in mathare. Employ more youths who are struggling to find a job and teaching them to become professional designers.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
I wake up early in the morning around 6:30am rush to Gikomba market. I then come back to my boutique do some cleanliness arrange the boutique. I then go back home at around 9:30am take a shower, take tea then I come back to my boutique to start working. During lunch time I take my lunch at a nearest hotel for 30minutes then go back to work until 9:00pm. I then go back home and sleep. On my free time I join my dancing group for training because am also a dancer on preparation for a event.