chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Johnson's Profile
Johnson's family
Johnson
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
55
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Johnson's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpum transfer, I plastered the floor of my 2 room house with 8700 KES, I spent 7000 KES on a steel door, 9000 KES on 3 windows, 4500 KES in a car battery, 6000 KES on a power inverter, I invested 10000 KES in a general shop and we spent the remaining 4800 KES on food and clothing.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have a big difference in my daily life since paraffin is no longer the source of my lighting; I am using solar lighting system couple with a car battery that has made me save a lot since carbon fuels are unhealthy and more expensive.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I gave 5,000 KES to my wife to start a shop business, used 2,000 KES to buy clothes for my wife then bought a sheep at 2,000 KES then used the rest on food for the house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to take dowry to my in-laws, farnish my house by cementing the walls and floor of the house then pay school fee for my child.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to pay dowry, invest in business, buy livestock and household items that I lack.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is my family. I love my wife and children and I thank God for their presence in my life. My first wife died a few years ago, from then on I learnt to celebrate my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is financial instability. The money I get from the small daily hustles is not enough to sustain my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I look after my livestock.