GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Charles's Profile
Charles's family
Charles
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
43
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($467 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
Part of my third transfer went on paying dowry for my late wife as required by our customs and the remaining amount went on improving my current house which is new as you can see.I'm forever grateful to Givedirectly.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying 2 cows 22000 KES, 25 iron sheets 16250 KES, timber 8400 KES and the remaining amount I spent on house expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I have a new comfortable house and I also have a cow that I milk daily.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought six iron sheets at 4,200 KES, am still keeping 5,000 KES in my account which I want to add more on top so as to buy more iron sheets.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to build an iron roofed house with cemented walls and floor.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a bigger house as I will buy twenty bags of cement that will be used in constructing my house and also I will build a house for my first born son, I will spend part of the transfer on buying furniture for my house and the remaining I will spend on paying school fees for my three children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I was able to take my first born son to school up to secondary school level using cash that I had got from renting part of my land and other cash that I got from my income as a chef in a local school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that we experience water shortage in our area and even if we plant crops on our land it does not do well due to drought.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to work in the local school as a chef in the morning. This makes me happy as the school is like my other home as when my wife passed on they contributed some cash towards her funeral.