GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Zawadi's Profile
Zawadi's family
Subsistence farming
Kenya Basic Income
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Zawadi's next check-in.
14th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($26 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
In the past few days we have experienced heavy rains in our village. This has caused serious leakages making it uncomfortable to stay in the house. The current situation requires immediate solutions to prevent further destruction of property in my house. I plan on using my subsequent transfers to purchase new pieces of iron sheets and repair the roof. A complete repair on the roof will give me some peace of mind and ensure my property is safe in the house. I am very happy with the financial support that has made my life better.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
The roof of my house is in a pathetic state. The iron sheets are rusted and have huge holes that let rainwater into the house. Rainwater has destroyed some furniture in my house, resulting in losses. It is for this reason that I saved $42 in the local savings group, commonly known as a "chama." The savings will help me purchase new pieces of iron sheets to replace the entire roof of my house. I paid $30 in school fees for my son, who attends a private school. It brings me much joy knowing that my son continues to pursue his education without any interruptions. To boost my income, I purchased seven hens for $14. Once the hens multiply, I will sell some in the future and earn a good profit. With the remaining amount of $14, I purchased food, soap, and detergents. My family has never lacked food to eat, thanks to the transfers. I appreciate the financial transfers for helping me take care of my family, despite having a job. I often rely on my husband, who is a casual laborer doing low-paying manual jobs.
10th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($23 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
In the upcoming year, my primary objective and proudest achievement will be to invest in acquiring livestock. Specifically, I aspire to become the owner of both a bull and a dairy cow. To accomplish this, my strategy involves initially purchasing goats. As they multiply, I will sell them and utilize the proceeds to procure the desired cows. Simultaneously, I am eagerly anticipating the construction of a roomy house that can accommodate my entire family. The prospect of providing a more spacious living environment fills me with great excitement and anticipation. I would like to express my profound gratitude for the financial assistance received from Give Directly. Their support has played a pivotal role in significantly enhancing the quality of my life.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
During the rainy season, I allocated $20 to plow my 2-acre land in preparation for planting. I am delighted to share that I had a remarkable harvest, resulting in an abundance of maize that will serve as a source of food for my family. Prior to the harvest, I spent $48 to ensure that my family never went to bed on an empty stomach, purchasing essential food items from local shops. In an effort to secure a future source of income, I invested in four hens with the intention of raising them and allowing them to multiply. Eventually, I plan to sell the offspring and generate additional funds. Additionally, I successfully cleared a school fee debt for my son who attends Ikanga Primary School. It brings me great joy to know that he will begin the next academic year without any outstanding fees. Lastly, I set aside $10 in a savings group, aiming to accumulate enough funds to construct a larger, more spacious house. The current one we reside in is quite small and lacks sufficient room for our family of four. I am incredibly grateful for the financial support that has allowed me and my family to experience an improved quality of life.
5th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($25 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
As a dedicated mother of three, I am focused on improving our living conditions and securing a brighter future. By saving money in a merry go round, I aim to build a larger and more comfortable home for my family. Additionally, I have ambitious plans to start a business selling fish and vegetables, building upon my current venture of selling mandazi through hawking. My ultimate goal is to create a sustainable source of income that supports my family and contributes positively to the community.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
As a devoted mother of three, I approached my financial decisions with utmost care and responsibility. With a keen eye for providing the best for my family, I allocated my funds wisely. A portion of $10 was set aside for my house building project, in a merry go round, ensuring that it would serve its intended function. Recognizing the paramount importance of education, I dedicated another $10 towards nurturing my child's academic journey and he is in grade two. Additionally, I prudently saved $4 in my personal account, nurturing my own financial well-being. Remaining mindful of our daily needs, I judiciously utilized the remaining $10 to procure essential food supplies.Thank you so much GiveDirectly because you made me take responsibility and be committed as a loving mother.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($27 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My main aim this year was to build my own home. I now live in a room that was a room that was kitchen for the family to which I was married into. The kitchen housed animals and was also the place for preparing food. When I was married I was given this house which did not even have a door as we looked for finances to build a house for ourselves. The animals were later sold out by my mother in-law so she could take care of her financial needs which gave us a bit more space. I want to use my march to buy the first materials for building, I want to continue this on a monthly basis untill I have all the materials for biudling this house.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
My husband worked as a bus conductor but in January when he came home for a break he was never called back to go work. He was our main breadwinner although I did some business my finances could not sort out our family financial needs. It was difficult as we accumulated a school fee debt and were even struggling to buy food for the family. I was so glad to received GD transfers, although my original plan was to use most of the money buying building materials I was able to clear the school fees debt and even start keeping some animals from this financial support. Also being that both myself and my husband are getting this transfers I believe we will achieve our dream of having our own two room house faster thanks to GD.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I received my first transfer of $14.8 and I used $10 to clear a debt of school fees I had at my child's school of $20 and got it to $10. I also bought a chicken at $4. My second transfer also helped me clear the school debt that was remaining of $10. I also used $5 to buy two chicken at $2.5 each. I used $5 to buy food, I took the amount that was left to be an emergency fund to help sort my child when they were sent out of school because they lack something such as pencils, rubbers, or even books.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
1480 KES ($11 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was in the afternoon around 3:00, I was sitting outside my house with my children. I had just finished doing my laundry and also cooked for my children and had taken them outside to rest a bit. My phone was in the house, and I had only gone back in the house to get a change f clothes for my son who had soiled his clothes, I checked my phone on my way out of the house and I was so excited, I had received my transfer from GD after a while of waiting.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference I have experienced in my life after receiving this money was the weight lifted off my back with school fees. We usually pay the amount across the whole term and sometimes we are forced to talk to the teacher to bear with us if we cannot raise it. I took a huge amount from the transfers and paid it to school so we do not have to worry about taking care of it for the rest of the term as all we have left to settle is $1 which we can pay along the term without much of a fuss.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I do some small business of selling mangoes and local fish referred to as "Omena" which I try to get an income from, My husband is a bus tout and does not make much as well. We usually struggle to settle my sons school fees and the case wasn't different at the beginning of the school term. I spent $8 from the trasnsers on settling the school fee payments and the remaining amount I spent on buying chicken.
access_time 2 years ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
The first thing to do is to obtain an asset, in this case, two goats. It is wise to always have a backup plan, something that can help address any emergency. I will raise these goats and trade them when the need arises. I desire also to renovate my house and add an extra room where we can sit together as a family. I have three children and a husband. The house we have acts as a living room and is also our bedroom. I project I will need about 20000 KES for the same. As I progress I will use the money also for school fees, I have one son in the nursery and my second born is to commence school next year. The plans I am putting into place at the moment will ensure that they go through school seamlessly.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My source of joy comes when I am at peace, my children are well, we have food and my son can attend school will no obstacles.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of finances is my constant pain. My husband sells dates in Mariakani and he does not make as much, in a good week he will earn about 1200 KES but when business is not good he comes back home with 500 KES and this is often. This amount is what we use to pay off debts, buy food and pay for school for our son. Most times when he fails to make enough sales, we tend not to pay tuition fees for our son, and as a result, he is sent back home to collect the same. When he is at home it does not please my heart because I know his peers are gaining more in school.