GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
51
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to pay secondary school fees for my children (30000), paid a hospital bill for my husband (10000) and bought two goats (8000).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I Thank GD so much for supporting me to pay fees for my child in the final year of secondary school, she was going to stay home and probably miss sitting for final exams because the dad was ill and stayed out of work for a while. He also got treatment and is feeling better now.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 3500 KES on treatment, 4500 KES on buying school items like uniforms and books for my daughter who joined high school. The rest of the money i spent on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to build a house with the next transfer since we had already gathered materials from our own savings.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to buy a bicycle with the first transfer,I would also go and pay school fees for my children. I will also build my house and set up a small business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that my children are in school which is going to help them have a better future.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that since my husband lost his job we have not been able to take our child to university,because of lack of money.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am selling my firewood because that's the only way I put food on the table for my family.