chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Selpher's Profile
Selpher's family
Selpher
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
28
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Selpher's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 32,000 KES to buy two oxen to help me in farming, bought a sewing machine at 10,000 KES and two sheep at 3,000 KES. The rest was spent on daily house hold expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Before I got money from GD, I used to spend money to hire oxen from other people to plough my farm. Since I bought my own oxen, I've managed to save much money that I would have otherwise spent on farm expenses. The money saved has helped me a lot in daily household expenses.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying a steel door and paying for labour fees for fixing it.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on buying 2 cows and an oxe plough.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to fix the door and also buy two oxen
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I bought iron sheets that I used to construct my house.
What is the happiest part of your day?
When I get food for my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I do menial work in order to put food on the table which is very difficult.