GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Fredrick's Profile
Fredrick's family
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Fredrick's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 25 iron sheets for 20,000 KES, poles for 5,000 KES, nails for 950 KES and paid 2,000 KES to have the house constructed. I spent 18,000 KES to pay school fees for my brother in secondary school and the rest was spent on daily HH expenses such as food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been able to construct a bigger house that can contain my family and our belongings. The previous house was very small.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying 12 iron sheets ksh 6400 , then bought 2 goats ksh 4100.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Planning to get more iron sheets to finish my house and start up a small business.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer on fish vending business. I am a motorcycle rider and I have learned that fish vendors are financially stable and I'd like to be like them.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have become a land owner after saving money from motorcycle business for four years.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of money because I don't have a reliable source of income. Sometimes the season is so low for our motorcycle business.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am happiest in the evening when counting the money I have earned for the day.