GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on expanding my house.I also bought chairs and 1 sack of maize and paid school fees for my sister.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a spacious house now.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I purchased building materials (marbles) at 7,000 KES. I invested 2,000 KES into a grocery business. I spent 1,000 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I want to expand my house and cement it.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to plaster my house because it is a new house and a lot has not been done since we do not have enough money. Secondly l would wish to do farming in large scale to generate income to support my family. Finally l wou
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievements are that we have struggled to build our own house and bought sheeps and goats.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is poor source of income to sustain my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening after selling vegetables and getting some money to buy food for my family.