GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Barack's Profile
Barack's family
Barack
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Construction (works for others)
faceAge:
21
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, My life is different since I am hopeful of starting my own business with the motorcycle I intend to buy and with the profits I will be able to meet my family's needs with ease. Therefore I will no longer struggle much by doing casual jobs to make a living, like before, at times I would stay in the house because their was no work .
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I have no new goal but rather intend to save money and buy a motorcycle and start my business.I believe I will be self -empowered and at the same time, the profits I will get from this business will enable me to meet my family's needs with ease.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
At a tender age, we were forced to be child-headed household after my mother passed on and we had to struggle to make a living. Success wasn't forthcoming because getting opportunities one needed to be outgoing and competent hence my sister and I had to do odd jobs to earn an income to meet the basic needs. I have saved the recent transfer since I am planning to use it on buying a motorcycle to hire out for transportation and make an income when I shall have top-up the deficit. I am so great full for the support from GiveDirectly.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($368 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($195 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I am currently jobless and my biggest plan is to start a shoe business with my next transfer so that I can stop being idle and also be able to support my parents in paying school fees for my three siblings in high school. They do not have a stable income as my mother depends on casual domestic jobs while my father relies on peasant farming back in the village. Part of the money will be used to pay the school fees.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
My house is now very decent with the items that I recently purchased. I am also less stressed because I save some money which I can use to purchase foodstuff whenever I am unable to raise the money through casula jobs.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used most of my transfer to pimp up my house by purchasing a television set and a woofer. I gave some to my younger siblings for their personal use, bought my family foodstuff and saved some of it for my own future needs since I do not have a source of income and it is mostly tough buying even my own food.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was quite excited when I received the money because it is an amount I had never received my entire life before GD. I know these transfers will change my life entirely because if I put them to good use, I am sure I will be of great help to the society, more so my family which is wallowing in poverty.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I want to assist my mother in paying school fees for my siblings. I have seven of them in primary and secondary school. I would want them to be able to help themselves in future or even help my own children in future. Secondly, I would want to open a shop that sells children's toys and shoes. It will help me have something stable to work with and leave casual jobs. Lastly, I would want to improve my house, buy chairs, matress, a screen and carpet my house.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is unemployment, I would want to be engaged and have something to do so as not to be idle. To avoid peer pressure and joining gangs. I used to be in one when i was in highschool, but i reformed and ever since i have had to fend for myself.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I would want to live a stable life and be able to help children in the ghetto to improve their lives and to have good morals.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
I wake up, go for football practise, get back home, i prepare something to eat then i leave in the evening for football practise. But if i get called for a job, I postphone my football practise and go to work. When i am free, I can read novels, watch a movie or visit friends.