chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Grace's Profile
Grace's family
Grace
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
36
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Grace's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 34 iron sheets at 22,100 KES, nails at 2,100 KES, poles at 6,000 KES and paid 2,500 KES for labour to construct my house. I also bought a heifer at 16,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was living in a very small house which had mat walls and just two iron sheets on the roof, but now I live in a bigger house which is spacious enough for my family and our belongings.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to pay fee to my son in high school. I also purchased 8 pieces of iron sheets which I'll use to build a new house immediately I receive the second transfer.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a nice iron roofed house and furnish it.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to build a house for my family since the one we are in very small and can not accommodate all of us.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement was when I had my business and was paying school fees for my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is ensuring my children are in school and my small business of selling tomatoes does not make it possible.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I can provide a meal for my children.