GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Ghasia's Profile
Ghasia's family
Ghasia
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
workCampaign
Kenya Basic Income
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Ghasia's next check-in.
 
26th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($24 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Thanks to the Givedirectly transfers I began a grocery business which had greatly changed the direction of my life. I never used to have a good source of income until I got this business. My husband is a motorcycle rider who in a week makes about $10. I also make an almost similar amount of $10 from my grocery business, we usually pull together our finances to fill in for school fees as the transfers on their own cannot cover everything. My goal is to use the transfers to expand this business I ma running to increase income as I also use it to pay the school fees for the children.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My seven children would have been out of school had it not been for the Givedirectly transfers that I am very happy to receive. I have 3 children in secondary school and 4 in primary school. They were 2 in Secondary until last year when my child sat for her national exams, performed well and was given admission into a secondary boarding school. I needed the finances to get the child into school and the transfers played a big role, I saved my transfers from December and pooled them together with my January transfers and paid school fees for my child as they got enrolled in form one as their school fees is $180 per term and I paid $68. I also spent the February transfers on my children n form four and form two where I paid $20 for the one in form four and got them books for $4 and also paid $10 for the one in form 2.
 
22nd Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($23 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My goal is to continue supporting the education of my seven children, two of whom are in high school, and the rest are in primary school. I would be delighted if they could pursue higher education at a university or college. I believe that through education, they will have better job opportunities and eventually support themselves and contribute to our well-being in our old age. Before the cash transfers come to an end, I hope to have established a small business selling vegetables in my village. This business will provide me with a continued source of income even after the cash transfers cease, ensuring that I can support the education of all my seven children. I firmly believe that education is the key to their future success, and I am determined to assist them in achieving their educational goals.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I have two children in high school, and their monthly tuition fees amount to at least $50 each. Before I began receiving the cash transfers, I used to make and sell charcoal as a way to supplement the limited income earned by their father, who runs a motorbike taxi business. Even with our combined efforts, we struggled to pay these fees, and it often resulted in our children missing school days. Since I started receiving the cash transfers, my husband and I made an arrangement: I would allocate most of the funds to cover the children's school tuition while he took care of essential household needs like food. As a result, I now direct $30 from the monthly cash transfers toward the children's school fees, and the remaining $4 is used for items like books or toiletries such as soap. I am relieved that I no longer have to engage in the physically demanding activity of charcoal production. With the regular cash transfers, I've been able to ensure that my children can continue their education, which has been reflected in their improved academic performance.
 
18th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($25 USD)
access_time 10 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My main goal is to see my children go to school without being sent home for school fees. I currently have seven children; six are in school and one is yet to start, getting money for the their school fees had been quite a challenge. I, therefore, plan to save every part of the transfers that I will be receiving from GiveDirectly and add to any little amount that I would be lucky to get so that whenever school is required, I would not have a hard time looking for any amount of money.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
The transfers were of great help and I was very grateful to GiveGirectly for the support. I received it at a time when two of my children had been sent home for school fees and owing to the fact that they were both in high school, I had to try as much as I could to get some little amount of money to take them back, but it was never easy. Luckily, I received the transfer which was of great help in terms of paying school fees for my children, buying food for my family and also having a little amount to save. I managed to spend $22 on school fees, $11.70 on food and saved the remaining $1 for my future use.
 
14th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($27 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My main goal in the next one year and beyond is to see my children go to school without being sent home for school fees. Getting money to settle their school fees had been one great challenge owing to the fact that my husband and I no longer have any reliable income. I would ensure that I achieve this by majorly spending the transfers that I would be getting on paying their school fees believing that one day they would land better jobs in the future and support me as well.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
It has always been my happiness and my dream to see my children continue and prosper in their education, and in the current state that we are in as a family, it had always been difficult for my husband and I to easily manage to reduce the school fees burden. So upon receiving the transfers, I decided to clear part of my children’s school fees for two who are in secondary and one in primary levels of education with the whole amount of KES. 3470 I received from GiveDirectly and I was so grateful.
 
10th Payment
Transfer Amount
3050 KES ($25 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent all the transfer on paying school fees for my children. I have three children in primary school and one in secondary school. They would be sent home to collect the school fees and this was affecting their performance in school. Currently, they are studying well without being disturbed. I rely on small-scale farming and selling of charcoals. This is my source of income to meet the basic needs of the family. I am so happy because my children are no studying well.
 
6th Payment
Transfer Amount
3050 KES ($26 USD)
access_time almost 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My daughter, who is in form two, had pending school fee arrears when I received my transfer. Her school administration would constantly remind me to clear the balance so that her studies would not be disrupted. Most of the time, I was able to persuade them to keep her in class while I toiled to raise money by selling charcoal. I had not made any sales by the transfer day, so I opted to use the majority of the transfer, KES 2,000, to pay the fee. During this time, my household had run out of food from the previous two days, leaving us mostly starving. As a result, I purchased food with the remaining cash, enough to last the rest of the week.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
3050 KES ($27 USD)
access_time 2 years ago
attach_money
 
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, give directly has done extremely well. This is because using the financial support that they give us; I have been able to pay my children's school fees. Now they're not sent home due to fee arrears. I am yet to note any area where give directly has not done well.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I am a charcoal manufacturer. In a week I make around KES800. This helps me to fend for my seven children, especially when it comes to paying school fees which are now in arrears. In my first transfer of KES3000, I used to buy a goat at KES2000, the remaining amount I used towards the payment of my children's school fees. When I got my second transfer of KES3000, my children had school fee arrears of KES6,000, So I used it all to reduce the debt.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
3050 KES ($27 USD)
access_time 2 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was in the farm looking for vegetable when I heard a message ring, upon checking it, I found out that I had received the transfer. I couldn't wait anymore as I had to rush to the nearby market where I withdrew the whole amount. I was so relieved that my children will go back to school finally after staying at home for a couple of days without hope of going back.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my children are now in school and the fact that I am guaranteed that I will be receiving the monthly transfers, I can talk to their headteacher to allow them stay in school and concentrate on their studies.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I am a mother of seven children and I have been burning and selling charcoal to provide for my family. Although it has not been easy paying school fees for the five school going children and providing other basic needs, I have been trying my best to give them the best that I can. When my mother passed on two month ago, I had to chip in with all the money that I had to cater for the burial expenses. I couldn't afford to pay school fees and the fees arrears added up to KES 3550. When my children were send home for fees, I couldn't afford to take them back to school and they had to stay at home. My goal was to buy more livestock but since the kids were at home, I had to pay something for them to be allowed back to school. I spent KES 1000 to pay school fees and KES 2000 to buy a goat. I'm hopeful that it will give birth to some other goats and one day I'll be able to sell it and provide pay some bills.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 2 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My daughter is currently in class seven at Kabatheni primary school. One year from now she will be joining high school and I know I'll need a lot of money to be able to take care of that. I therefore plan to buy many goats to help me keep my money in a form that is safe and grows in value so that in future when I need money for her education I just sell some and raise it. My husband also works in Mariakani making about 300 KES per day, but I know with that he can not comfortably afford it.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I have daughter who experienced a severe stomachache for about two months until I was worried it might turn out to be a case of alcers or cancer. This was especially due to the fact that I tried taking her to several local hospitals but they couldn't get a definite diagnosis. The problem finally went away on its own and I was very happy. At that point I was already out of resources to keep trying different treatment methods.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I have five children who are in school; one in form one and four in primary school. We have been struggling a lot to raise their school fees to an extent that they're constantly out of school to fetch different balances. This is mostly because we only depend on my husband's income of about 300 KES per day since I'm not economically involved at the moment.