<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Ismael's Profile
Ismael's family
Ismael
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
18
homeHousehold Size:
2
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Ismael's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 15000 KES on my utensils and poultry business, bought a cow for 18000 KES, a sheep 3200 KES, two sacks of maize 5200 KES, treated my brother with 5000 KES and still spending the rest on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
We were lacking food and clothes which I have bought with the transfer. Life is also better because I have income from the utensils and poultry business I started with the transfer.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I started a business of selling clothes with the token payment.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to expand my business, register for a course and pay fee for my brother with the upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy some household items such as beddings,table and some few chairs since they are the items I lack in my house.I would like to save the rest for future use.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is being able to provide for my younger brother by ensuring that he goes to school daily and that he is not sent away from school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I would say my job is too demanding and sometimes I work without being paid thereby making life unbearable for me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the the afternoon while working on my farm since I know I will reap something in future.