GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Irene's Profile
Irene's family
Irene
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
25
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($475 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying building materials(10 bags of cement,paint).I also bought 4 sheep,clothes and food for my family.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of building a kitchen.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have a flour to mop since it's plastered.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought livestock (a bull, 4 sheep) at 32,000 KES. I bought an ox-plough at 12,000 KES. I bought a woofer 9,000 KES. I spent the remaining amount on school uniforms and clothes.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have acquired the items that I never owned before such as livestock. The ox-plough facilitated the cultivation of my farms and made it possible to till the land in time. Previously I would struggle to hire ploughing services. The service providers would delay until the rainfalls subside leading to poor yields.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a solar panel at 5,000 KES, clothes at 2,000 KES and spent the rest on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to expand and cement my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to further my husband studies since he was uder going mechanical studies but he did finish because of the money. Secondly l would wish to buy oxen and ploughing machine to enable us do farming in a better way to in
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievements are that we have struggled and built our own house. Secondly we have also bought household items.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is finding school fees for my inlaw's since they are orphans and my husband is the only responsible person to take care of them.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when all family members are in good health.