GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Kadzo's Profile
Kadzo's family
Kadzo
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
59
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($510 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have this small scale business which generates profits on a day to day basis, which keeps me going. At least I do not have to rely on other people for financial help because I now have my own source of income.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
I managed to take my kid back to school after staying home for some months due to lack of school fees arrears which I had not paid by that time.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the cash on starting a small scale business where I operate a shop which has been generating some cash for me ever since the transfers were stopped. I am glad that I now have a source of income that I can rely on without having to depend on anyone for financial help.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($548 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My son had stayed at home for more than two years and I was planning to take him to college to further his studies but due to financial constraints, I was not able to meet the requirements for him to join the college. However, with the coming of GiveDirectly, I strengthened financially and my son will soon join the college.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The transfer came at a time when I was troubled as a parent who wishes the best for her children in excelling in their education. Seeing the notification early in the morning brought much happiness and I rejoiced with my son when I realised that the message had some good news for us all, for the money I have been anxiously waiting for had finally been sent. I now felt peaceful and thankful in my heart for financial support from GiveDirectly, for my son would soon join college.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
My son had completed his high school and was to further his studies for his education so that he can also get a good certificate that would enable him to seek for a job, but because I did not have a stable source of income to meet all the requirements for him to join college, his desire for further studies were at a standstill. The small income that my husband was getting from the casual jobs was not enough to take our son to college. I thank GiveDirectly for sending us the transfer which has enabled us to meet all the needs for him and soon will be joining college. We also had only one ox that we were keeping with our neighbour with the hope that someday will be able to get another bull for them to make a pair so as to help us in our farming, through the transfer I was able to purchase and other bull and now I have a pair. This will relieve me of the burden of hiring when the season for planting comes. I am sure of cultivating a big acreage through them and get plenty of harvests and enough to feed my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My greatest desire is to be able to have sufficient crop production both for domestic consumption and for outside supplies, a business I intend to setup within the village. First of all, I will use part of my transfers to purchase two oxen and an ox-plough.Having that will enable me to prepare my land efficiently and in good time resulting to better harvest. Secondly, I will take my child back to college. He dropped out of school due to lack of school fee. It will be his greatest joy to finally complete his education and secure a better future. Finally, I will secure myself a better medical attention.
What is the happiest part of your day?
As a farmer and a full-time housewife, I normally engage myself in farm work and raising livestock. In the morning, I do household chores and immediately after, I head to my farm up until lunch hour. Afternoon is the only time I get a chance to rest and engage with my peers on various socioeconomical issues and this gives me joy. I also spend quality time with my family at this moment.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My inability to get better medical attention in time after suffering from heart disease has been the biggest hardship in my life. This has made me inefficient and not been able to engage in any productive activity at all. My husband being a casual labourer gets little money that cannot sustain the family and at the same time cater for my medical attention. As a result of all these constrains, I have been unable to take my children past o levels to which some have even gotten married at a younger age and that worries me a lot.