chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Judith's Profile
Judith's family
Judith
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
33
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($466 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent most portion of my third transfer to make a down payment on a land I was purchasing where I will build my house and move from the rented one, I spent a portion to buy fishing ropes since I am in fish business and the remaining amount, I spent to buy other household items which I did not have.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the second transfer on paying an installment for a land purchase 45,000 KES and school fees 5,30 KES.I also bought ten tins of maize 9,00 and the food for the family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is I have have paid part of the money needed for land purchase, at the moment I am staying in a rental house hoping to build my own homestead.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 7,000KES on buying a bed and a matress, and paid 1,600KES debt. I spent the remaining 1,400KES on groceries and food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to pay for a piece of land for settlement, because we are landless and am currently living in a rental room at the market centre.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to purchase land and build my own house because our ancestral land is small and I am in a polygamous family. I also plan to start rearing livestock so that incase I have an emergency I can easily earn money by converting them into cash.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have a family that I am working hard to feed and clothe.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is that I lack money to build a house because I lack a good and reliable source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am through with the day's tasks and I am taking time to rest.