<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jacob's Profile
Jacob's family
Jacob
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Jacob's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying ballast ksh 12000, stones ksh 15000 and bricks ksh 30000.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen is that now my child goes to school and soon all be able to put up a good house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000 KES school fees. I also bought utensils, clothes and food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a brick house.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees for my children where one is in form three and the others are in primary school,I will spend part of the transfer on building a new house made of bricks and cement and the remaining amount I will spend on buying a bull that I will use in ploughing my farm.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that in the past I did not have land but I managed to save some cash from the work I have been doing as a security guard which enabled me to buy land that I built the house I now stay in.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I have a problem in paying school fees for my children as my salary is very low and it cannot sustain the needs of my family. We also have a problem when it comes to access to water as our land is very dry and we are forced to walk long distance in search of water.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I come home from work and I buy food at the local market in the evening,I feel happy to know that my family will welcome me with smiles on their faces to know that we have food to eat.