GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Halima's Profile
Halima's family
Halima
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
36
workCampaign
Kenya Large Transfer
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Halima's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($427 USD)
access_time 18 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I went to fetch some water at a nearby water source while my phone was charging at home. I was with a neighbor who had her phone with her, and she received a message about her transfer from GiveDirectly on our way back. When we got home, I checked my phone and was overjoyed to see the M-Pesa notification. I couldn't wait to withdraw the money to start building a house for my children.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I am grateful that the recent transfer has enabled me to build a house for my three sons after struggling with housing for quite some time. My previous house was not large enough to accommodate them, so they often had to stay with friends in the neighborhood. I couldn't afford to build them a house due to the high cost of building materials such as iron sheets and poles. I'm now at peace because I wanted to live with them on my compound, and I've managed to build them a decent house. Providing them with a proper home has greatly relieved them from the stress of finding shelter elsewhere. Furthermore, my eldest son finished high school last year and is set to join university this year. I've managed to save $180 for him, which will make it easier for him to cover his expenses and admission fees. I consider this a significant boost for me, and it will help my son get admitted as he plans to further his studies.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My eldest son finished high school last year and did well in his final exams. He is scheduled to start university this September, and I need to cover his admission costs, fees, and buy him some supplies for his studies. This has been a challenge for me given my limited finances - I am just a subsistence farmer in the village, while my husband takes care of our livestock. However, receiving the financial support from GiveDirectly has provided a huge relief for us. I was able to save $180 in my account, which I plan to use for my son's university admission and to buy him what he needs. I used the remaining amount to buy building materials, including 14 iron sheets, building poles, and nails to build a house for my three sons. They have been struggling with shelter and had to stay at a friend's house in the neighborhood. I couldn't bear to see them go through this every night, so I wanted them to live with me on my compound. It's a relief that I was able to build them a decent iron-roofed house, and now they live with me.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
Changing the livelihood of my family is basically what receiving this money means to me. The status quo is too worse and I wish to have my children get the best in their studies. With this money, I am planning to spend a big portion of it to support my children in school. A huge amount ($700), will help my son to start his campus studies in September 2024 who intends to do a medicine course. The remaining amount will help to sort other household needs like repairing our houses which are in bad condition and also to support those my two children who are still in lower classes. Hence, achieving all my ambition will mean a better future for my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Despite the financial challenge that has affected my children in school, I am so happy to have recorded a history at home as the first parent to have a son who attained a min grade of B+ in the recent concluded KCSE exams. This has given me hope for a better future since he is expecting to join campus to do a medicine course. Hence, this is what has brought me joy in my life.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The lack of a reliable source of income to my household is what stands out to be my biggest challenge. This is because, I depend on some casual jobs and subsistence farming which are not earning me enough to support my family of 6. The education for my children is what has been affected the most since they mostly stay at home for at least one week whenever they are sent out of school. This pain me most as a mother and it is this situation that has robbed away my joy.