chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Elizabeth's Profile
Elizabeth's family
Elizabeth
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Elizabeth's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the whole of the first lumpsum transfer on buying building materials (iron sheets, nails and timber)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have the hopes of soon building a bigger descent house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on digging and building a pit latrine.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on building a shop.I also want to add capital to my small business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a shop at the market centre so that we stop using our house as a shop,I will spend part of the transfer on buying stock for our shop as the ones we are currently having is very small and part of the transfer also I will spend on paying school fees and buying uniform for our kids. The remaining amount we will spend on buying furniture for our house like seats and a table.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that we were able to build our house using savings that we had accumulated from the small business of shopkeeping that I do and the motorcycle business of my husband.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that our income is not very stable and at times we spend a lot of money on food making us to be let with very little that cannot be used to pay for school fees for our kids.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning to do laundry for my family. This makes me happy as my family will always have clean clothes to put on when I am done with the washing.