chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Emmanuel's Profile
Emmanuel's family
Emmanuel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
52
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Emmanuel's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 10 iron sheets for 6,500 KES to add to the ones that I had already bought, a mattress for 3,000 KES, steel door for 8,000 KES, steel windows for 12,000 KES, goats for 8,000 KES, poles for 3,000 KES and bride price for 10,000 KES. (Added some money from other sources)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have already bought some materials that I will use to construct a bigger house which is spacious enough. The bride price I paid has given me great relief and has allowed me to focus on other things.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l want to build my house so l have started buying materials so l spend the money to buy 10 peaces of iron-sheet each at 700 kshs, nails at 2000 kshs remaining balance l use for buying foodstuff.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to build my own home because am still stay at my father's home.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy materials which I will use to build my own homestead as I am currently living in my father's homestead. If there are any remaining funds I will invest them in a small business which can enable me increase my income base.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having worked at a stone quarry and after saving for many years I finally managed to start a small business dealing in second hand clothes, sadly the business collapsed due to various factors.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I currently face is lack of a sustainable source of income, I have no permanent work and so if I do not get odd jobs, I often have to sleep hungry.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday when I have finished all my morning tasks and look forward to resting in the afternoon or getting even more odd jobs.