chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Geofrey's Profile
Geofrey's family
Geofrey
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Teaching
faceAge:
23
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($499 USD)
access_time 16 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different from how it would have been in that I would be spending money on milk and who knows my family would have developed a medical condition due to the uncontrollable smoke.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, people's living standards have improved because of the unconditional cash transfer and the fact that the entire process of enrollment is transparent . There is nothing that did not go well.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent part of my second transfer on constructing a kitchen. Initially, I had one house that had been partitioned to accommodate a tiny kitchen inside it. The disadvantage with this kind of arrangement was that any time the meals were being prepared either my family members or visitors would be chocked in smoke hence making our lives unbearable. Having two separate houses is a dream come true because any time my friends come visiting they always feel comfortable. I also bought a dairy cow since I wanted to get milk for my family and sell the surplus. I am now glad that I have already started supplying milk to the dairy board hence earning a living from it. I am proud that I do not depend on my parent's cows that was a burden.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($548 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I no longer have to hustle in order to buy milk as I used to do. I am happy that we now consume our milk from the cow that I bought using my first transfer. I am also glad that I will soon finish building my kitchen. We currently have one house which acts as both the kitchen and the living room and it at times looks very messy and congested. I also have enough food for my family. I was able to buy two bags of maize that would sustain us for quite along time. Buying food in bulk is quite cheaper as compared to buying small portions on a daily basis.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was just waking up around 6 Am and upon checking my phone, I saw a message that I had received the amount received. I was happy that GiveDirectly kept their word.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent KES 29000 to buy a dairy cow for rearing. We have a seven-month-old baby and I figured that I needed fresh milk from my own farm to help feed the baby. My family would also benefit from this milk meaning I would also cut costs on my overall expenses. I used to buy hawked milk by the roadside and apart from it being expensive, I was also skeptical of how hygienic the milk sellers were. I had to consider how clean they were especially now that one of the consumers is the baby. In addition to that, I also bought building materials and put up a kitchen. I used the rest of the transfer to buy food for my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
When I receive this money, I will buy a dairy cow (250 USD). Owning a cow will save me a lot of expenses. I currently buy one litre of milk daily (0.3 USD).When I milk my cow I will get milk for consumption and for sale as well. I will also build a kitchen. I have only one room serving all purposes. With the kitchen ,my current house will enable me to host visitors comfortably .They will not have to persevere the smoke that comes out of the kitchen since I use firewood. The kitchen will cost me approximately 250 USD.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am a teacher and therefore I spend most of my day in school. I report to school at 8am and leave at 5pm. I enjoy the afternoon when I have few lessons. During this time I get time to interact with my colleagues who are very motivational. Among them are my mentors who always give me hope for a better future.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
As a young family man, it is challenging especially when it comes to meeting the needs of the family.This is because I do not have a stable source of income. I am an untrained teacher employed by the Parents and Teachers Association(PTA) and therefore I am paid very little(40 USD in a month). I have a passion in teaching but I do not have money to go and study teaching in college. Completing a course in teaching would have translated to an increased income and therefore my family would live comfortably.