GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Benter's Profile
Benter's family
Benter
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
19
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
l spent my third transfer to pay dowry of 40500 KES, the remaining balance l spent to start small scale business.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to improve my business to get enough income for my daily use.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if l never received the transfer, is that l could not have paid dowry and start a business.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
we bought iron sheet cost ksh 7500, ksh 500 on school fee and ksh2,000 on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
biggest difference is that i now have have good house
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 10 iron sheets at 6,500 KES, paid 460 KES school fee for my child, used 2,000 KES to take my child to hospital then used the rest on food for the house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to build an iron roofed house with cemented walls and floor then buy a cow that will be used as a dowry for my parents.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to build a house and to pay for my dowry
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I built the house I am in and I have grown some trees
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is lack of a proper house since we don't have any source of income
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am farming