<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Helida's Profile
Helida's family
Helida
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
55
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Helida's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer, I spent 32500 KES on 2500 building stones, 4500 KES on a lorry of sand, 7000 KES on 10 bags of cement, I added 4000 KES, amount from my pocket to the remaining 6000 KES to clear 10000 KES secondary school fees arrears for my granddaughter.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am now healthier; my life has changed and I am very greatful to GD together with my household members. We eat well-we are always on a better meals, the biggest difference in our daily lives.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer of 5000 kshs to pay school fees for my children in secondary school the remaining 5000 kshs l spent to dig pit latrine.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to plaster my house and to clear school fees for my children
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I'm planning to spend my transfer on the following ways; paying school fees for my children and one grandson whose father passed on and now under my care,I also plan to cement my current house to make it stronger and lastly I will build a toilet which I do not have currently.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is having been able to build my current house which is iron roof and bigger. Before this, I used to live in a thatched house which would always fall when it rains.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am facing currently in my life is on paying school fees for my children without any proper source of income. They are in secondary school and much cash is always needed.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is normally in the morning when I visit my small firm to cultivate with hopes of getting some yield when the harvest period comes.This is my only source of livelihood hence investing more time in it makes me happy.