GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Elidah's Profile
Elidah's family
Elidah
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought a cow for 20000 KES, furniture for 8000 KES, cemented my house with 13000 KES and spent some to buy clothes and school uniforms.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes, I have bought a cow and cemented my house which were my new goals.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have a big difference in my life; I have bought steel doors, good furniture and a bull cow which I could have not bought without the transfer.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on buying steel door and also bought chairs.I also bought clothes for my family and repaired my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a good house now.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought building materials (timber), clothes and food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build and plaster my house, buy cattle and start cereal business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to repair our house, buy chairs, a table, pay school fees and buy an ox which will be used for farming.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having been able to build our current house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of a steady source of income and sufficient food.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am happiest in the morning, because that is when my garden looks vibrant and healthy.