chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Roseline's Profile
Roseline's family
Roseline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
46
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Roseline's next check-in.
 
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
4560 KES ($44 USD)
access_time 9 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I have been able to buy things that I never had before because right now I have been able to buy a new set of sofa-set in addition to buying a few bags of cement and and sand that I used to make repairs on my house that has been in a dilapidated state.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I expect to buy new tiles that I will use to decorate the floor of my house to make it loom more attractive and long-lasting. I know it is expensive to buy these items but I know I will be able to do so because I am so determined to achieve my target.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I now have things that I never had in the past such as the chairs which makes my living room so lively as opposed to the old seats that I had before that were so embarrassing.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Right now I am planning to boost my shop business so that I can be able to rely on my savings and the little profits that I will be making from the business.
 
Enrolled
access_time 10 months ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is being ill of blood pressure.It gets high oftenly when I am alone and this makes it hard to help myself when in need.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the mid-day when I get to see my neighbours and tell stories as we laugh.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend my transfer on buying household items like sofa sets and kitchen ware.I also plan to buy fish direct from lake Aram and sell to consumers at Ndori market.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement was when I used to have a fish business.I could afford to send ksh.2000 monthly to my mother to assist her in buying food and other basic needs.